NorVApics Home
Vintage Images
Access Image Gallery
Vintage Amusements
Vintage Maps
Scans of Ticket Stubs from Concerts in Virginia, Maryland and Washington DC
Yearbooks for Sale from Virginia, Maryland and Washington DC
Yearbooks pictures from Virginia, Maryland and Washington DC

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hello Everyone

Post new topic   Reply to topic    NorVApics.com Forum Index -> General Memories
View previous topic :: View next topic  
s in fl

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:02 pm    Post subject: Hello Everyone Reply with quote

I'm new to the site, just found it the other day. It's really bringing back memories for me.

I lived in Northern Virginia from 1965 to 1977 when I enlisted in the Army. For most of that time we lived in DarbyDale in Dale City. I graduated from Gar-Field in '77.

I've searched the site for a few places, but can't seem to find them. I worked at the 3Chefs restaurant in Marumsco plaza. Ms. Helbringer (Mrs. H to those that worked there) was my boss. She was a good, but very hard boss, and she took care of us. I received my black belt from Roberts School of Karate next to the 7-11 in Featherstone. I later enlisted in the same spot because it became a recruiting office.

One of my family's favorite restaurants was the Pilot House. That was our special place for important family dinners. I always had the trout because I liked it and it bugged my sister because it always had the head left on. I was sad to see that the restaurant no longer exists.

I bought my first motorcycle from the Yamaha shop on US1 near Marumsco before it was moved to the intersection of US1 and Smoketown road. Friday and Saturday nights were spent at the roller skating rink in Dumfries.